Press Release

Sixth Medical Unit at St. Francis Receives Beacon Award for Nursing Excellence

March 22nd, 2018

ROSLYN, NY, March 22, 2018 – The American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN) has given the Beacon Silver Award to the Post Anesthesia Care Unit (PACU) at St. Francis Hospital. This latest recognition for nursing excellence brings the total number of Beacon Awards to six for the Hospital. Three intensive care units, the CTICU, SICU, and IMCU hold Gold-level Beacon Awards. Two others, MICU 2 and the Cath Lab/ACU have Silver-level awards. St. Francis is the only hospital on Long Island and the only one in New York State to hold six Beacon Awards for nursing excellence. 

The Beacon Award for Excellence is a national three-year award with gold, silver, and bronze designations that mark significant milestones on the path to exceptional patient care and achieving a healthy work environment. It recognizes unit caregivers who successfully improve patient outcomes and align their practices with the AACN’s six Healthy Work Environment Standards. Units that achieve this recognition meet national criteria consistent with Magnet Recognition, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, and the National Quality Healthcare Award. 

“Our highly dedicated PACU nurses always strive to provide excellence in patient care. For St. Francis to be recognized once again with this prestigious award, along with Magnet and our other national recognitions, is a reflection of our ongoing commitment to always put patients first,” says Ann Cella, M.A., M.Ed, R.N., NEA-BC, Senior Vice President of Patient Care and Chief Nursing Officer at St. Francis.

The St. Francis Hospital PACU is one of only three Post Anesthesia Care Units in the country to hold a Beacon Silver Award and the only one in New York.

Contact: Paul Barry, 516-563-7970,

             Rosemary Gomez, 516-563-7965,


Floating CTA Show: