Skip to main content
Press Release

Fifth Med-Surg Unit at St. Francis Receives Top Honor for Nursing Excellence

13 July, 2017

The Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses (AMSN) and the Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Board (MSNCB) have given the FP2 Nursing Unit at St. Francis Hospital the PRISM award for exemplary nursing practice.

PRISM, which stands for Premier Recognition in the Specialty of Med-Surg, is the first award of its kind honoring med-surg nursing units in the U.S. Four other nursing units at St. Francis- 1 East, 2 West, 2 East, and 1 West – currently have the award. St. Francis holds more AMSN PRISM awards than any hospital in the U.S.

“Receiving a fifth PRISM award is yet another affirmation of the topnotch care our nurses provide to patients on our medical-surgical units,” says Ann Cella, M.A., M.Ed, R.N., NEA-BC, Senior Vice President of Patient Care and Chief Nursing Officer at St. Francis. “PRISM, along with our other national recognitions such as Magnet and Beacon, reflect why St. Francis is consistently rated one of the best hospitals in the country.”

In order to achieve PRISM status, medical-surgical units must demonstrate sustained excellence by exhibiting:

  • Effective leadership
  • Recruitment and retention of competent staff members
  • Evidence-based practice
  • Positive patient outcomes
  • Healthy work environment
  • Lifelong learning of unit staff members

Only 22 Medical Surgical Units in the United States currently have PRISM awards. St. Francis is the only hospital in New York State to have achieved PRISM status and the only one in the country to have five units with this prestigious recognition.



Best Nurses, Magnet Recognized

St. Francis Hospital has earned the coveted Magnet award for excellence in nursing.

Read more