Press Release

Three Intensive Care Units at St. Francis Win Beacon Awards for Nursing Excellence Again

July 1st, 2016

ROSLYN, NY – The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) has once again given three Beacon Awards for Excellence to St. Francis Hospital. Two intensive care units, the CTICU and SICU, received Gold-level Beacon Awards. The MICU 2 received a Silver-level award.

Beacon is a national three-year award with gold, silver and bronze designations that mark significant milestones on the path to exceptional patient care and achieving a healthy work environment. It recognizes unit caregivers who successfully improve patient outcomes and align their practices with the AACN’s six Healthy Work Environment Standards. Units that achieve this recognition meet national criteria consistent with Magnet Recognition, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and the National Quality Healthcare Award.

“We are extremely proud to have earned this recognition yet again for three of our units that consistently strive to provide the very best outcomes for our patients. This award, along with our third-time Magnet Recognition and other top nursing designations, reflects the high priority we place on working as a team to ensure excellence in patient care,” said Ann Cella, MA, MEd,  RN, NEA-BC, senior vice president of patient care and chief nursing officer at St. Francis.

Two other units at the hospital, the IMCU and the Cardiac Catheterization Lab, recently submitted Beacon Award applications for the first time. 

Looking for Ways to Help
Nursing at St. Francis

Looking for Ways to Help?

St. Francis Hospital is blessed to have the support of a great many friends.  Would you like to join in our efforts?

Read more