Press Release

Fifth Nursing Unit at St. Francis Honored With Beacon Award for Excellence

November 25th, 2016

ROSLYN, NY – The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) has given the Beacon Gold Award to the Intermediate Care Unit (3E) at St. Francis Hospital. This latest recognition for nursing excellence brings the total number of Beacon Awards to five for the hospital. The Cardiac Cath Lab/Ambulatory Care Unit (ACU) recently received a Silver-level Beacon Award. Two intensive care units, the CTICU and SICU, have Gold-level recognition. The MICU 2 has a Silver-level award.

The Beacon Award for Excellence is a national three-year award with gold, silver and bronze designations that mark significant milestones on the path to exceptional patient care and achieving a healthy work environment. It recognizes unit caregivers who successfully improve patient outcomes and align their practices with the AACN’s six Healthy Work Environment Standards. Units that achieve this recognition meet national criteria consistent with Magnet Recognition, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and the National Quality Healthcare Award.

“To have yet another one of our nursing units earn this coveted award is a testament to our ongoing commitment to providing excellence in patient care,” said Ann Cella, MA, M.Ed, RN, NEA-BC, senior vice president of patient care and chief nursing officer at St. Francis. “We continually strive to enhance the best practices of our profession so our patients can directly benefit from our time-tested expertise.”

St. Francis Hospital received its first Gold-level Beacon Award in 2012 and has been earning the prestigious national nursing recognition on a consistent basis since that time.

Inner Page Hero Image: 
Looking for Ways to Help
Nursing at St. Francis

Looking for Ways to Help?

St. Francis Hospital is blessed to have the support of a great many friends.  Would you like to join in our efforts?

Read more